The inaugural class is a big one, with 15 members being inducted.

The magnificence consists of Legacy Members, Art Smith, and Howard Smith. The Smiths had been the authentic Chateau track builders and operators/promoters.

The 13 inductees are Dave Bjorge, Ole Brua, Verlin Eaker, Mike Guttormson, Don Lowe, Don McAllister, Dave Noble, Greg Pfeifer, LeRoy Scharkey, John (Sonny) VanWilligen, Mert Williams, Gerhard Wollenburg and Don Wytaske.

gal-10720280.jpg (1280×1001)

All are a couple of of-time tune champions. Guttormson, Noble, and Scharkey are within the pinnacle-10 in all-time characteristic wins at Chateau.

The annual Guttormson Memorial race turned into additionally named after the past due to Mike Guttormson, who received track championships in 1976, 1981 and 1991.
Rochester’s Dustin Sorensen has been hard to beat this season.

The current Rochester Lourdes High School graduate has two victories and four top-five finishes in 4 characteristic start at Deer Creek Speedway this season.

And he picked up his 2d United States Modified Touring Series victory of the year remaining weekend at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis.

Sorensen earned $three,000 for his win on the whole night of The Masters. He beat one of the pleasant dirt-tune drivers around, too, passing Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., with just two laps to move.

Sorensen tracked down Mars with 5 laps left and tried to bypass him at the high facet with 4 to move, however, Mars closed the space before Sorensen could skip him.

Two laps later, Sorensen once more went tough through Turns three and 4 on the excessive facet and this time was given wheel-to-wheel with Mars.

That was all of the opening Sorensen needed. He made the pass for the lead and drove to the win.

“That was the maximum a laugh I’ve ever had in a race vehicle,” Sorensen stated throughout his birthday party in Victory Lane. “This is the happiest I’ve ever been after a race, passing a man like Jimmy.”

The win becomes the third USMTS feature win of Sorensen’s young professionals. His earlier two came at Deer Creek, inclusive of his first, in May of 2018, a win that made him the youngest characteristic winner in USMTS records.

Sorensen — the son of longtime location racer Mike Sorensen and the grandson of nearby racing legend Dick Sorensen — drives an MB Customs chassis, built with the aid of Mars.

All of the dwelling inductees have been invited to Friday’s induction ceremony, in order to take region at about eight:30 p.M.

The inductees and their families have also been invited to a party at 5:30 p.M. Race fanatics also are welcome at the collection to satisfy the inductees.

The inductees span numerous generations of drivers, along with champions from 1958 (Brua) to 1992 (VanWilligen).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *